Skip to Content

About IPIB

The Iowa Public Information Board is an independent agency governed by a nine-member board appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate.  No more than three members of the board shall represent the media, and not more than three represent counties, cities or other local governments. The members serve staggered four-year terms, and are balanced by political party and gender. The board elects a chair and vice chair from among its members. The current members are:

Joan Corbin, Pella -  Government Representative
E. J. Giovannetti, Urbandale - Government Representative
Barry Lindahl, Dubuque - Government Representative
Keith Luchtel, Clive - Media Representative
Monica McHugh, Zwingle - Public Representative
Fredrick (Rick) Morain, Jefferson - Media Representative
Julie Pottorff, Des Moines - Public Representative
Suzan Stewart, Sioux City - Public Representative
vacant - Public Representative

The board’s staff consists of an Executive Director, Deputy Director, and Legal Counsel:

Margaret E. Johnson, J.D.
Executive Director

Brett J. Toresdahl
Deputy Director

Hannah Fordyce
Legal Counsel


Printed from the website on September 25, 2022 at 1:17pm.