## **IOWA PUBLIC INFORMATION BOARD**

### **MEMBERS**

Daniel Breitbarth, Des Moines (Government Representative, 2022-2026)
Joan Corbin, Pella (Government Representative, 2020-2024)
E. J. Giovannetti, Urbandale (Public Representative, 2022-2026)
Barry Lindahl, Dubuque (Government Representative, 2020-2024)
Joel McCrea (Media Representative, 2022-2026)
Monica McHugh, Zwingle (Public Representative, 2022-2026)
Julie Pottorff, Des Moines (Public Representative, 2020-2024)
Jackie Schmillen, Urbandale (Media Representative, 2022-2026)
vacant

#### **STAFF**

Margaret Johnson, Executive Director Brett Toresdahl, Deputy Director Hannah Fordyce, Legal Counsel

# **Meeting Access**

Wallace Building has restricted access. Please use east entrance of building off E. 9<sup>th</sup> Street.

Once inside the atrium, proceed to the frosted glass sliding doors.

Use the lobby phone to dial the number provided on the door sign.

Proceed to the north set of elevators which is to your right down the hall.

A person will meet you at the elevator to escort you to the meeting on 3<sup>rd</sup> floor.

If You Can't Attend In Person, Please Connect To The Meeting With The Following:
Dial-in number: 866-685-1580 Conference Code: 2841441953

Agenda
June 16, 2022 1:00 p.m.
Wallace Building
502 East 9th Street, Des Moines
3rd Floor E/W Conference Room

### 1:00 PM - IPIB Meeting

- I. Approval of agenda\*
- II. Approval of the May 19, 2022 minutes \*
- III. Public Forum (5 minute limit per speaker)
- IV. Comments from the board chair. (Pottorff)
- V. Advisory Opinion Deliberation/Action. (Fordyce)
   1. IPIB 22AO:0003 Reasonable fees Chapter 22 \*

- VI. Cases involving Board Deliberation/Action. (Johnson)
  - 1. Beck, Tim (22FC:0036 Both Chapters Pleasant Valley School District 5/5/22) \* Dismiss
  - 2. Behrens, Chris (22FC:0042 Both Chapters Tama County Board of Supervisors 5/18/22) \* Dismiss
  - 3. Case, Jesse (22FC:0043 Chapter 22 Cedar Rapids Community School District 5/18/22) \* Dismiss
  - 4. Gomes, William (22FC:0038 Chapter 21 Bettendorf Comm. School Board 5/9/22) \* Dismiss
  - 5. Mierzwa, Fran (22FC:0034 Chapter 22 Pottawattamie Co. Board of Supervisors 4/28/22) \* Dismiss
  - 6. Peasley, Courtney (22FC:0033 Both Chapters City of Derby 4/25/22) \* Accept
  - 7. Pichone, Cherie (21FC:0104 Chapter 22 University of Iowa Police Dept. 11/9/21) \* Probable Cause Report
  - 8. Prichard, Todd (22FC:0041 Chapter 22 Iowa Department of Corrections 5/13/22) \* Dismiss
  - 9. purebreadgooddog@gmail.com (22FC:0028 Both Ch. Linden Public Library 4/5/22) \* Dismiss
  - 10. Sly, Diana (22FC:0053 Chapter 21 Lorimor City Council 6/1/22) \* Accept
  - 11. Swarm, Jack (22FC:0011 Chapter 21 Mt. Pleasant City Council 2/28/22) \* Dismiss
- VII. Matters Withdrawn, No Action Necessary. (Johnson)
  - 1. Miller, Vanessa (22FC:0046 Chapter 22 University of Iowa 5/24/22) \* withdrawl
  - 2. Silich, Paul (22FC:0045 Chapter 22 Dubuque Co. Sheriff's Office 5/24/22) \* withdrawl
- VIII. Pending Complaints. Informational Only (Johnson)
  - 1. Byars, William (21FC:0081 Chapter 21 Adair City Council 8/22/21) Pending
  - 2. Dingbaum, Heather (22FC:0039 Chapter 22 Central DeWitt Comm. School 5/11/22) Intake
  - 3. Drish, Tom (22FC:0049 Chapter 21 Jefferson County Supervisors 5/26/22) Intake
  - 4. Evans, William (22FC:0061 Chapter 22 Department of Revenue 6/13/22) Intake
  - 5. Gomes, Analicia (22FC:0058 Chapter 21 Bettendorf Comm. School Board 6/2/22) Intake
  - 6. Huffman, David (22FC:0047 Both Chapters Batavia City Council 5/25/22) Intake
  - 7. Johnson, Jared (22FC:0040 Chapter 22 City of Muscatine 5/13/22) Intake
  - 8. Johnson, Kevin (22FC:0060 Chapter 22 City of Hamburg 6/6/22) Intake
  - 9. Kauffman, Clark (17FC:0029 Chapter 22 Polk County Assessor 4/6/17) Pending
  - 10. Klein, Adam (15FC:0034-Chapter 22 DCI / Burlington Police Dept. 5/15/15) Pending
  - 11. Merritt, Michael (22FC:0019 Chapter 22 City of Guthrie Center 3/9/22) Pending
  - 12. Motz, Roger (22FC:0048 Chapter 21 Rand Peterson Levee District 5/23/22) Intake
  - 13. Porter, Robert (22FC:0056 Chapter 22 Ankeny Community School District 6/2/22) Intake
  - 14. Radtke, Mari (22FC:0050 Chapter 22 City of Paullina 5/26/22) Intake
  - 15. Rockdaschel, Stacey (22FC:0037 Both Chapters Danbury City Council 5/9/22) Intake
  - 16. Sheakley, Cliff (22FC:0026 Chapter 22 Dubuque County 3/30/22) Pending
  - 17. Stoecklein, Thomas (22FC:0059 Chapter 22 Lee County Sheriff's Office 6/3/22) Intake
  - 18. Stratton, James (22FC:0054 Chapter 22 City of Iowa Falls 6/1/22) Intake
  - 19. Whitehead, Richard (22FC:0044 Both Chapters Center Point-Urbana Community Schools 5/24/22) Intake
  - 20. Wilson, Janet (22FC:0051 Chapter 21 Tama Co. Board of Supervisors 5/27/22) Intake
  - 21. Wilson, Janet (22FC:0052 Chapter 21 Tama Co. Board of Supervisors 5/27/22) Intake
  - 22. Wilson, Janet (22FC:0055 Chapter 22 Tama Co. Board of Supervisors 6/1/22) Intake
  - 23. Wilson, Janet (22FC:0057 Chapter 21 Tama Co. Board of Supervisors 6/2/22) Intake

- IX. Committee Reports
  - 1. Communications (Toresdahl)
  - 2. Legislative (Johnson)
  - 3. Rules (Fordyce)
    - A) Timeliness Rule Public Hearing, July 11, 2022, 3:00 P.M.
- X. Office status report.
  - 1. Contacts and activity \* (Johnson)
  - 2. Financial/Budget Update (FY22 & FY23) \* (Toresdahl)
  - 3. Presentations/Trainings (Johnson) –

June 24, 2022 – Iowa State Assn. of County Auditor – Dubuque July 8, 2022 – Iowa Council of School Board Attorneys – Des Moines

- XI. Next IPIB Board Meeting will be held in the Wallace Building, 3rd Floor, E/W Conference Room July 21, 2022 at 1:00 p.m.
- XII. Adjourn \* Attachment

### **IOWA PUBLIC INFORMATION BOARD**

## June 16, 2022 Unapproved Cancelled Meeting Minutes

The Board planned to meet on June 16, 2022 for its monthly meeting at 1:00 p.m. in person and by conference call in the 3<sup>rd</sup> floor E/W Conference Room in the Wallace Building. The following members were present: Barry Lindahl, Dubuque; Joel McCrea, Pleasant Hill; Jackie Schmillen, Urbandale, and Julie Pottorff, Des Moines. Also present were IPIB Executive Director Margaret Johnson, IPIB Deputy Director Brett Toresdahl; IPIB Legal Counsel Hannah Fordyce. A quorum was not declared to be present.

Cancellation of Meeting: When phone connection to the meeting was attempted, a change in the phone system made it impossible to connect the conference call statewide. Due to the fact that some IPIB Board Members were to call-in, and that an alternate phone number would not be available to the public, Pottorff cancelled the meeting for lack of quorum due to technical difficulties. All agenda action items will continue to the next meeting.

The next IPIB meeting will be in the Wallace Building, **3rd Floor**, **E/W Conference Room**, July 21, 2022, at 1:00 p.m.

At 1:10 p.m. the meeting adjourned.	
	Respectfully submitted
	Brett Toresdahl, Deputy Director
IPIB, Chair	
Approved	